VIII - Classical Refinement

by Judith Larsen


Program VIII explores 18th century music for harpsichord, at a time when both the fortepiano and harpsichord flourished and the style of the music often worked well on either instrument.  It was the beginning of the Mozart and Haydn era. At times, the performer’s choice between playing a harpsichord or fortepiano depended on which was in better regulation (that is, well-tuned with reliable action).  

works by Mozart, Arne, Galuppi, Martini, Haydn and Neefe

Program VIII - Classical Refinement

Download Music Commentary - a PDF script for the entire musical journey -- all programs including music


Download Music Only (Part 1) - music only

Download Music Only (Part 2) - music only


Download Full Program (Part 1) - music including commentary

Download Full Program (Part 2) - music including commentary

Download Full Program (Part 3) - music including commentary